The-Knot.png
BOW_2018_Badges500x500.jpg
 
 
download.png

Reviewed On 12/10/2017 Jay M

Our daughter’s wedding at the Birkby House was a winner on all fronts. The venue looked outstanding both day and night and created the perfect vibe for our guests. A beautiful (if a bit unseasonable for July in Northern Virginia) day allowed us to have cocktails and bridal party pictures in the courtyard while enjoying a two-piece band providing live music under a shade tree. We opted for catering by Tuskie’s and were extremely glad we did – the food was great and the service even better (we jokingly asked for dancing servers to deliver the late-night pizza snack and, to our delight, they accommodated the request with style). The evening under the air-conditioned tent was very comfortable and provided ample dancing room while additional cocktails were enjoyed under the moonlight. Guests also made use of the historic and well-turned out house during the event. There are many different places to enjoy yourself at this venue. Pre-wedding use of the facility was an added plus allowing the bridal party (and the groomsmen) to gather and prepare while sipping champagne. Saving the best for last, we cannot say enough great things about the assistance and support we received from both Carleigh and Kristin of the Birkby House. They were engaged in the process every step of the way right down to the bride and groom’s sparkler enveloped farewell. As out-of-town hosts, they happily answered all our questions and happily engaged us in our many requests and questions even going above and beyond to significantly improve on what we were thinking. They quickly gained the confidence of the bride who had definite ideas of what she was looking for on her day. We can honestly say they made the event a pleasure and, by the time it was over, they felt like family! Thanks to you both. In all, a wonderful experience at the Birkby House – one we highly recommend to others!

download.png

Reviewed On 9/12/2017 Caitlin S

We had our wedding here and could not have been happier. The venue is absolutely stunning and the staff go above and beyond to make sure that every part of your day is a perfect as you hope it will be. Venue: Beautifully kept grounds, large event tent with air conditioning (ifneeded), Bridal suite is recently renovated and works perfectly for a wedding party (we had about 10 people), Grooms quarters have plenty of space and a TV to kick back and relax, inside the house is extremely clean and very well laid out for guests to get away from the heat, or just sit and have a cocktail. Staff: We were treated as royalty. Carleigh went out of her way to make sure that every little detail reflected our wishes from prior meetings with her and the vendors. She was very attentive, offered ideas that she has seen work for other weddings, but did not discourage us from doing things our own way if we were really excited about them. She stepped up when our post wedding venue fell through last minute and wrangled us a bus to take all of our guests to another bar in the area. We even received mimosas when arriving the next morning to pick up the left over items from the night before. We really could not have dreamed of a better wedding and we attribute a HUGE part of that to The Birkby House. If you are thinking about having your wedding here, DO IT! You will not regret it!

Reviewed On 11/01/2016 Catherine R

The Birkby House was the perfect venue for our October wedding. We were able to get ready in the house itself (they have beautiful bridal and groom suites that are conveniently separated to avoid seeing each other before planned) and utilized the downstairs to entertain early guests. Our bar was to be setup on the patio in the backyard, but due to weather we had to move the entire event under the large reception tent. The staff made all of this happen with no disruption and our guests were none the wiser that it was supposed to be setup differently in the first place. The venue is a beautiful setting for photos, offering diverse textures and backgrounds to capture stunning pictures, of both large and small groups, without having to leave the property. The venue has various tables and chairs available, which offers savings on rentals. You can also bring your own alcohol which can save you hundreds of dollars. The large tent stands on the property year round and is perfect for a reception in any weather because you can pull the flaps back to be open if the weather is nice, or close them to keep out wind and rain. It made our whole day since we had unexpected winds of 40+MPH. We had 13 tables seating 110 guests, a sweet heart table, double sided buffet, DJ setup, dance floor, and large bar under the tent and there was plenty of room for everything. Costs were clear and everything was very fair. We loved the venue and the staff and are so happy they hosted our big day!!

Reviewed On 10/18/2016 Melissa I

LOVE the Birkby House!! The history plus the beautifully kept gardens out back pulled my husband and I in immediately. The staff are INCREDIBLE. They are so helpful, kind, and creative. They are very accommodating and truly do their best to make your day yours and as perfect as it can be! I really wanted round seating, and although they had never done it before they were quick to receive the idea and make it happen. They even have a some decorations that are available to every couple (like lights to hang from trees, bird cages, signs, etc.). The staff alone made this choice worthwhile for us.

Reviewed On 9/26/2016 by Sara

I honestly can't say enough good things about the Birkby House. We had our wedding there on 9/3/16 and I can say with 100% confidence that this was the perfect venue. Don't let it's size fool you - it has everything you could ever need plus everything you could want. From thebridal suite to the reception tent to the option to have lawn games, they have seriously thought of everything. Plus, the staff there is incredible and SO willing to help you create the perfect scene. Do yourself a favor and hire Carleigh as a coordinator as well - she is AMAZING. I am so thrilled to have found and chosen the Birkby House and I hope that we have reason to celebrate there again in the future!

Wedding-Wire-Logo.png
 
download.png

Taryn,  9/15/17

THIS PLACE WAS EVERYTHING I WANTED! It was a perfect garden wedding with added character from an amazing historic home. Fantastic for photos, there were so many different backdrops that there is something everyone would like. We invited about 150 people and it didn't feel crowded. The outdoor space was beautifully green and we honestly didn't have to add much to make it everything i wanted in a wedding venue. The tables and chairs were included in the space whhich saved us oodles of money. The women organizing everything (Carliegh and Kristen) were so responsive and helpful and generally fun to be around. They didn't bat an eye when we asked to bury a bottle of burbon on sight and only hesitiated slightly when we said we wanted to throw a hammer around for a lawn game called stump. They are so organized and relaxed it really put me and my family at ease!

download.png

Crystal,  7/6/17

We looked at many venues in the Leesburg area, but Birkby House was a hidden gem. The inside of the house is beautiful and gives off a great vintage feel. The back of the house opens into a beautiful patio garden area which leads to a beautiful tent with chandeliers hanging from the ceiling. In addition to the venue being beautiful, the staff were absolutely wonderful to work with. We had to do our wedding planning from overseas, but they were so good to get back to us right away whether it be over the phone, email, or a meeting in person. Carlieigh in particular worked hard to make sure everything went as smoothly as possible and gave great advice having planned so many weddings on the premises. (Our wedding party was quite small, only about 50 guests, but they can easily accommodate much larger parties.) We are so pleased we chose Birkby House for our venue!

download.png

 Dawn,  6/3/17, 4 Reviews

I can't say enough nice things about the Birkby House!! The grounds were beautiful and extremely well maintained, the staff was super accommodating and pleasant to work with, and it had all the amenities our guests needed ...and then some! The space has a lot to offer, with both indoor and outdoor seating, a gazebo, a romantic tented area, modern, fully-stocked bridal suites (the en suite bathroom even has heated floors!!!), lawn games, etc. Our guests kept gushing about how beautiful the venue was for days after the event. I would book the Birkby House again and again in a heartbeat! It's also worth mentioning that we retained the day-of coordination services that are offered through Simply Royal Events, which Carleigh and Kristin (who also oversee the Birkby House) offer. --They were spectacular. I didn't have to think about any of the little details on the big day. They only asked for my input when something major happened (an important guest was running late), and they totally took care of it. I gave them very little direction of what I was looking for (basically just told them "no rustic decor"), but they still managed to execute a beautiful wedding that was totally my style! If you are interested in coordination services, then I definitely recommend you go with Carleigh and Kristin. They know the space and vendors very well, and have a great eye for design! Actually, even if you aren't interested in coordination services, you should look into them. (My husband wasn't crazy about the idea, but now he doesn't know what we would have done if we DIDN'T hire them!)